

Rotary District 6580 Annual Business Meeting Minutes April 21, 2018 Indianapolis, Indiana

Call to Order	The meeting was called to order by District Governor Judy Bush at 10:15 a.m. on April 21, 2018, during the 2018 All IN Conference held at the Marriott Indianapolis Downtown in Indianapolis, Indiana. She welcomed everyone and asked attendees to add their names to the signup sheets to indicate attendance.
	Twenty-five clubs were in attendance (signup sheet attached): Batesville, Bedford, Bloomington, Bloomington Sunrise, Brazil, Brown County, Clarksville, Columbus, Columbus Sunrise, Evansville, Evansville Morning, Franklin, Greensburg, Greenwood, Greenwood/White River, Jasper, Jeffersonville, New Albany, North Vernon, Seymour, Terre Haute, Terre Haute South, Vincennes, Warrick County and Washington.
Minutes	Minutes for the Annual Business Meeting, April 22, 2017, were distributed. Jerry Fox (Greensburg Rotary Club) moved that the minutes be approved. Shanon O'Toole (Vincennes Rotary Club) seconded the motion. Motion approved.
Resolutions	 Resolve, that Rotarians meeting in the business session at the District 6580 Conference on 21 April 2018, in Indianapolis, IN, approve establishment of a District 6580 fund for the purpose of financing district sponsored projects and the administration and development of Rotary in the district for Rotary year 2018-2019. Ramesh Joshi (Greenwood) moved approval; Peggy Peter (New Albany) seconded; motion carried.
	2. Resolve to approve participation in Central States Rotary Youth Exchange for 2018-2019 and to cover the costs associated with the program. Bettye Dunham (New Albany) moved approval; Kim Gray (Bloomington) seconded; motion approved.
	3. Resolve to approve the 2016-17 financial records submitted by the Audit Committee. Kirk Bouchie (Vincennes) moved approval; Ramesh Joshi (Greenwood) seconded; motion approved.
	4. Resolve to approve the District Nominating Committee recommendation of Jessika Hane as District Governor Nominee Designate (DGND) to

serve as District 6580 Governor in 2020-21. Paul Stanley (Terre Haute) moved approval; Roger Whaley (New Albany) seconded; motion carried.

- Resolve to approve the District Nominating Committee recommendation of PDG Laura Carie as Vice Governor for 2018-19. Mike Baker (Bloomington) moved approval, Randy Johnson (Greenwood/White River) seconded; motion carried.
- Resolve to approve District 6580 participation in Rotary Leadership Institute (RLI) in 2018-19. Joy Harter (Bloomington) moved approval; Jim Gislason (Vincennes) seconded; motion carried.
- 7. Resolve to give an expression of appreciation to the All IN Conference planning committee. Priscilla Scalf (Columbus Sunrise) moved; Leigh Perry (Evansville Morning) seconded; motion carried.
- Resolve to send a letter of thanks to Rotary International President Ian Riseley for the participation of Director Greg Yank in the All IN Conference meeting April 20-21, 2018. Randy Wheeler (Evansville) moved; Jerry Fox (Greensburg) seconded; motion carried.
- 9. Resolve that the Proposed Resolution by the Bloomington Rotary Club for the RI Board of Directors (attached) be adopted: Be it RESOLVED by Rotary International that the Board of Directors adopt more creative and targeted efforts to encourage increased participation of women and younger leaders and give them the necessary exposure and experience to be selected for positions in the ranks of Rotary International leadership beyond the club level.

Roger Brinkman (Columbus) moved approval; Shanon O'Toole (Vincennes) seconded the motion. DGE Sue Wright (Clarksville) requested that the resolution be expanded to include minorities. After discussion, Travis Johnson (Evansville Morning) moved to amend the resolution to add "and minorities" following 'younger leaders.' Shari Sherman (Warrick County) seconded the motion to amend. Motion carried.

Mike Baker (Bloomington) and Sara Laughlin (Bloomington) volunteered to work with Sue Wright (Clarksville) to revise the "Whereas" statements to support the resolution, before sending to DG Judy Bush (Bedford) and Paul Stanley (Terre Haute) for Council on Legislation.

Other Business	DG Judy Bush presented awards:
	Distinguished Large Club: Columbus
	Distinguished Mid-sized Club: Greensburg
	Distinguished Small Club: Batesville
	Orphie Bridges Award: Randy Wheeler
	Exemplary Rotarian Award: Jim Bright
	She thanked district volunteers.
	She announced that it has been a phenomenal giving year, with 123 new or renewed Paul Harris Fellow, 7 new Paul Harris Society members, and two new major Donors, Ramesh Joshi and another from the Franklin Club.
	She announced Rotary Youth Exchange student scholarships to Stephanie Hunt, Sierra Roberts, and Danielle Wenz.
Thank You to Outgoing DG	Roger Brinkman (Columbus) moved to thank DG Judy Bush for her passion and enthusiasm for Rotary and her leadership during the 2016-17 year; Dwight Thompson (Brown County) seconded; the motion was approved unanimously and with enthusiasm.
	DG Judy Bush introduced incoming District Governor Sue Wright, DG Elect Santhana Naidu, and DG Nominee Jessika Hane.
Adjournment	Jim Gislason (Vincennes) moved to adjourn; Mike Crumbo (Greenwood-White River) seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 11:15 a.m.

Respectfully submitted

Sara laughter

Sara Laughlin, for Teresa Heidenreich District 6580 Secretary