ROTARY DISTRICT 6200

HISTORY

When the Rotary Club of Lake Charles was chartered in 1916, the new club was placed in Rotary District 12. The District Governor was W. H. Richardson of Austin, Texas.

The Rotary Club of Baton Rouge came into existence in 1918, and the two clubs (Lake Charles and Baton Rouge) were in Rotary District 20. The District Governor was Samuel Mason of Shreveport, Louisiana.

The following year the young south Louisiana clubs were incorporated into District 14 until 1922, at which time they became part of District 17. In 1937 they were included in District 139

Joel L. Fletcher of Lafayette was the last Governor of District 139 in 1948. The following year, the clubs became part of District 202 until 1957, when the clubs were included in District 619. In 1958, the territory became District 620; in 1991, the number was revised to its current designation, District 6200.

BOUNDRY DESCRIPTION

Rotary District 6200 makes up that portion of Louisiana that is south of the northern boundaries of the parishes of Beauregard, Allen, Evangeline, St. Landry, Pointe Coupee, West Feliciana, and East Feliciana, and west of the western boundaries of the parishes of St. Helena, the Tickfaw River in Livingston, St. John the Baptist, St. Charles, and Jefferson, also Grand Isle in Jefferson Parish. District 6200 includes the following 26 Parishes: Acadia, Jefferson Davis, Allen, Lafayette, Ascension, Lafourche, Assumption, Livingston (west of the Tickfaw River), Beauregard, Calcasieu, Pointe Coupee, Cameron, St. Janes, East Baton Rouge, St. Landry, Eash Feliciana, St Martin, Evangeline, St Mary, Grand Isle, Jefferson, Terrebonne, Iberia, Vermilion, Iberville, and West Baton Rouge.

