The Education Committee is a Special Committee of the Grove Rotary Foundation authorized in accordance with the Policy & Procedure for the Organization and Operation of the Foundation Education Committee, the By-Laws and Articles of Incorporation of the Grove Rotary Foundation and in compliance with applicable IRS requirements.

The Committee consists of nine members appointed by the Foundation Trustees to staggered three-year terms, with three members taking office each July 1. The Education Committee is advisory in nature and is accountable to the Trustees of the Grove Rotary Foundation for defining and managing the Club's scholarship eligibility, selection, nomination and award process as approved by the Trustees. It also is responsible for verifying the continuing eligibility of multi-year scholarship recipients, as well as maintaining and recommending updates to the Trustees regarding the Club's Educational Scholarship/Grant Five-Year Plan.

Each year, the Committee nominates candidates to receive three unrestricted One-Year Financial Need-Based Vocational Scholarships to Northeast Technology Center (NTC), Afton OK. These scholarships are intended to be full tuition scholarships for most NTC courses of study. In Academic Year 2022-23, the value of each scholarship is \$2,150, payable in equal installments at the start of each semester.

Also each year, the Committee nominates candidates to receive three unrestricted Four-Year College Scholarships. For Academic Year 2023-24, the value of each scholarship is \$7,600, payable in four equal annual installments prior to the start of each fall semester.

Award of the first college scholarship is based on overall merit, including the Rotary essay. Award of the second college scholarship is based on re-evaluation of the remaining finalists based on 70% financial need and 30% non-academic achievement and the Rotary essay. The third college scholarship nominee is selected at the discretion of the Committee from the remaining finalists considering financial need, demonstrated leadership potential, and overall potential.

Pauline Hale is the Chairperson of the Education Committee and Phyllis Hudecki serves as Vice Chair. Ken Spragins is Chairperson of the NTC Vocational Scholarship Subcommittee and is a non-voting member of the Education Committee. Past Chair David Adzigian also serves in an advisory capacity as a non-voting member.

Membership on the nine-member Committee is by appointment by the Grove Rotary Foundation Board of Trustees. Members' terms are three years with three members being replaced on the Committee each year. Rotarians, in good standing, who are interested in being appointed to this Committee are encouraged to submit their Statement of Interest to the Committee Chairperson by the specified due date in April. The Statement of Interest Form (including closing date for submission) can be found on the Grove Rotary Foundation page of the Club's web-site.

The Chairperson of this Committee is separately appointed by the Trustees from eligible Club members who have had at least two years of experience on the Committee. The Education Committee (minus any members who are requesting consideration for a second term) considers the Statements of Interest and then provides a list of nominees to the Foundation Trustees for approval.

Committee Chairs



Pauline Hale Chair



Phyllis Hudecki Vice-Chair



Ken Spragins
Sub-Committee Chair